One big waffle

Hey look, I made waffles! Without, ahem, WITHOUT a waffle-maker!

Okay, technically, I made a waffle, singular. One giant waffle which tends more towards crispy pancake than airy, holey waffle. But waffle-ish nonetheless.

I never knew you could make waffles without a waffle-maker, did you? Which came first, how did people make them before waffle-makers were invented? Or is it more like one of those things that fill a hole in your life that you don’t realise exist until said thing came along…

It never even crossed my mind to make waffles before. Because I didn’t have a waffle-maker. And anyway, I wasn’t all that crazy about them. Until… I came across a recipe for making them in a grill pan. Okaaay, that is… pretty genius. I’m ashamed I didn’t think of it myself (although to be fair, I never owned a grill pan before either, and this grill pan only belongs to The House).

It didn’t come out perfectly, the texture isn’t quite right. I’ll have to tweak the recipe (I followed the one in the Tesco magazine I picked up, too dense but maybe that’s because I messed around with it a bit) but… it’s just so beautiful.

As pretty as a picture, with a dollop of yoghurt and golden syrup on top.

I told myself that I should eat it fresh since everyone’s always going on about delicious hot waffles bla bla, but all I discovered was that I really do prefer cold cake, cold pancakes, cold waffles, yeh. It’s to do with the fats, I just prefer them on the solid side.

That’s the news of the day, and now that that particular hole in my life has been filled, I’ll go forward in the knowledge that there may be many more waffles to come. You can be sure that I’ll be back with a better waffle recipe (perfectionist in me) but for now, have this one.

One big waffle

2 eggs

1 tbsp. sugar (add more as desired, 1 tbsp. is only very mildly sweet, more like a ghost of sweetness)

100g butter

1 ¼ cup milk

¼ cup sour cream (because it was lying around, and why not)

Makes about 6 waffles cut up, or, just one big portion for one who is in need

2 cups flour (I mixed plain and wholemeal, for toothy wholesomeness)

½ tsp. salt

½ tsp. baking powder

A dash of cinnamon

Oh yeh, and about ½ cup frozen blueberries – thaw for a short time beforehand, about 15 mins

Melt the butter and combine with sugar. Whisk in the eggs. Add the dry ingredients and mix.

Once it starts coming together add the milk gradually continuing to mix. Add the rest of the milk, sour cream and blueberries. Mix till all ingredients are just incorporated.

Heat the grill pan over high-med heat and lightly oil. Pour in the batter and turn down to medium heat. Let it cook for 5-10 mins until underside is golden-brown.

Now for the tricky part: use a knife/spatula to loosen the underside and carefully slide the whole waffle onto a plate or tray. Now flip the waffle over back into the grill pan uncooked side down. Cook for another 5-10 mins until done.

* * *

Psst, with the size of my grill pan I could probably have done two batches which might have resulted in a thinner, lighter, crispier waffle. Next time for sure…

